Kawasaki KRX Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2021 Blue
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I’m still new to sport side by sides but an old hand at farm equipment maintenance, so I figured on doing the services myself. Long story short, I pulled 'er in the shop at 120 miles and spent the morning doing the first service, making a few observations along the way:
1. Use 6 sided sockets.
2. The PT W54075 fits the OEM filter just fine.
3. When loosening things for the first time, slow and steady saves the day.
4. If it has a torque value, use a torque wrench.
5. I pulled the skid plate to drain the engine oil. Won't do that again.....
6. I opted to drain everything and then refill. Others may focus on one component at a time. Do what works for you.
7. Refilling the final drive and transmission was a snap using this little gem. Screws right on to quart jugs (gallon, too) and has a twist on/off function. Quick and clean.
8. I used OEM stuff.
9. Finish with all the tools you started with.

Still need to pull the belt cover and check torque on the beadlock rings, lug nuts and shock mounts. I did everything a reputable shop would have done and more. It did take some time, but the quantum leap in familiarity was well worth it. Nothing compares to knowing something was done right because you did it yourself. I figure I'll do one more dino change and then switch to synthetics.

·
Registered
2021 KRX Blue
991 Posts
Great contribution!!!
I’m sure you found fluid changes on a KRX to be very simple and straightforward. Everything is super easy to access. Not like a Wolverine.

Nice tip on that spout with that long tube!
I’ll order one: