Kawasaki KRX Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an amateur radio operator. I was on a ride in Ouray (see this link) when I had opportunity to play a small part in a mountain rescue (see some photos and brief description on the Ouray Mountain Rescue Team's website here) using my 2m handheld radio. My comms were spotty using that handheld--the repeater I was hitting was in a saddle over 10 miles away, blocked by some peaks in the way.

So I decided when I got home to put my Kenwood TM-261A into my KRX (more power and hopefully better antenna). I mounted it out of the way under the glove box on the passenger's side. I used one of the tabs on the roll cage in the back to mount my antenna, and that's where this DIY info comes in. I don't know if it will be helpful or not, but I thought I'd post it for the group.

I bought this antenna on Amazon. It has a brass plate that helps seal it down onto a hole in the roof of a vehicle. In fact, and this is where the info here is important, it's designed to work over a "ground plane"--that is, a large flat metal sheet. Inasmuch as I have the KRX plastic roof, I don't have a ground plane.

After I installed the antenna, I used my SWR meter to measure the Standing Wave Ratio. This is a number between 1 and "infinity" that measures how good your antenna impedance matching is. One way to think of it is the amount of power the antenna reflects back to the radio if it's not well matched. A perfect SWR is 1.0. Anything in the low 1.x range (e.g 1.2, etc.) is considered "good."